Choosing to Trust God

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.

And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.

For just as the heavens are higher than the earth,

so my ways are higher than your ways

and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9

At first glance, the image of a growing seed implies the promise of new life.  The roots suggest a solid foundation that the seedling will rely on in the future to nourish it and keep it firmly planted.  Those roots took time to develop before the seedling could survive above ground.  Through this, God seems to be saying,”You may not realize what I’ve been working in your life yet, but your breakthrough is just about to come forth… and it will be in My perfect timing.”   

As I compose this post, a very interesting revelation about this painting is developing in me.  I feel that although the above message is very important, it points to something perhaps even deeper than hope.  That is TRUST.

Every season or trial brings a very special opportunity.  Regardless of the role we have played in our circumstances, there is one common decision we have the opportunity to make.  Will we trust in God?  Even when we don’t know what He is doing (that sure sounds like an accusation of God “doing” something to us, but it’s an honest feeling regardless if it’s right or wrong).  That is the point.  It’s a lack of trust in a loving God, that provokes those types of feelings.  It can be extremely difficult to trust, especially when a lot of pain is involved.  When we suffer, the last thing we want to do is hand over control to God who may or may not be a strong figure in our life…yet. 

As with any relationship, knowing who God is can take time to develop for many people. When I shared about Jesus with my four year old several years ago, she instantly knew who Jesus was and knew His heart.  It came naturally to her.  I on the other hand, took much longer to even begin to understand Him.  Indeed, I am still learning who He is and learning how to trust Him.  It takes time spent in the presence of the Lord to know His heart.  It may take many trials and tribulations for a person to understand how to  trust God. 

Trusting Him.  At the very core of all of this is the fact that God loves us with an everlasting love.  Yes, this is a truth without question.  It is written in the Bible.  I had read this in the Bible, but I came to know this more deeply through my experiences; the hard things in life.  Through the many times I did not trust God and I chose to live my own way and my way ended in failure and pain.  Also, through the many difficult seasons in my life that I had no control over but He brought me to the place I am today.  The process of surviving as I clung to Him taught me how to trust in God with more of myself.  I learned more about His perfect love during those times. 

When I choose Him and His ways, when I choose to trust God, I begin to see that He IS always there regardless of what I do or think.  Whether I can see Him or feel Him.  He IS always working on my behalf.  It begins as an act of will and in time turns into faith in God.  I know that you love me Jesus.  I trust you Lord, my life is yours.

God has promised to never leave us nor forsake us.  He created us out of the love that He has for us.  He did not have to do this, He chose to.  He chose us before the foundations of the Earth.  Just as we can choose to trust Him to work everything out for our good.  We can choose to trust despite what our situations look like on the surface, confident that Jesus has a plan for our life that is far greater than we could ever imagine.

 “The Seed” was painted during a morning service at The River Church of OC in Irvine, California.

2 thoughts on “Choosing to Trust God

Leave a comment